Monsoon 2009

April 5, 2009

Last night was Monsoon 2009, an annual show NYU Shruti (the umbrella Indian student organization at NYU) puts on that features all the Indian dance teams at NYU, as well as dances put on by the freshmen through senior classes. I was counting on some of my friends to record all the dances on their cameras, but unfortunately they took the wrong train and ended up only arriving in time for the last performance of the evening. So until I can get the videos off of several different Facebook profiles and pictures from everybody else, I thought I’d find some YouTube videos and still share a couple of the highlight performances of the evening.

One of the first performances was the Raas Malai team. Raas–and garba–are folk Indian dances that are usually danced during the Hindu festival of Navratri, a celebration that lasts for nine nights and ten days, each of which is dedicated in worship to a different Hindu goddess. In competitions, raas and garba teams generally mix traditional steps with strong drum beats, and toss in a few stunts for show:

My favorite part of the evening was watching NYU Pandemonium, the all-male hip-hop and bhangra fusion dance team. This video is from the Phillyfest 2009 competition, where the group took 1st place.

I’ll try to get a video of my sophomore class dance up once I can figure out how to steal videos from Facebook, or just find someone who can send me the video file.

In the meantime, here’s a teaser picture of our sophomore class!

monsoon-group

Leave a Reply

