Speaking of Bollywood dance…

April 19, 2009

In my previous post, I talked about the Bollywood-style laundromat dance scene filmed for “Arranged”, a graduate thesis film by NYU Tisch grad Suraj Das. Well, I had the opportunity to speak to Melissa Briggs, the choreographer of the dance scene!

When I asked Melissa (who is mostly experienced in Broadway choreography) about how much experience she had with choreographing Bollywood-style dances, her answer surprised me: “Not much at all,” she said. “It was a totally new thing for me.”

Melissa did do a lot of research to prepare for the scene. “I’d seen a lot of Bollywood movies,” she said, adding that she revisited footage from the film Bombay Dreams. She also said she borrowed elements from a Masala Bhangra cardio dance class.

“It was definitely a learning experience for me,” she said. “Usually I’m an actor/dancer so I was on the other side of the table this time. Bollywood is a very unique genre.”

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find the laundromat dance sequence on YouTube. But our conversation reminded me that I have yet to upload the Bollywood compilation dance that my friends and I performed for the NYU Monsoon show! So here it is, see if you can spot yours truly.

For those interested, the song selection is as follows:

  • “Aye Hip Hopper” by IshQ Bector
  • “Pappu Can’t Dance” Film: Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na
  • “Muqabala Muqabla” by A.R. Rehman
  • “Dance Pe Chance” Film: Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi
  • “Baawre” Film: Luck By Chance
  • “Jhoom Barabar Jhoom” Film: Jhoom Barabar Jhoom
  • “Aai Paapi” Film: Kismat Konnection
Leave a Reply

