Dancing Barefoot

May 3, 2009

If you’ve seen enough performances of Indian dance, you’ll notice that generally, the dancers dance with their bare feet. Though I’m not entirely sure of the reason(s) why Indian dances are just generally performed sans shoes, it’s probably due to the fact that Indian dance emphasizes rhythm and beat, particularly in classical Indian dance, where the dancers strike the floor with their feet.Photo from flickr.com

Photo from flickr.com

Photo from flickr.com

To emphasize the movement and sound of the feet as they strike the ground, a string or pad of bells known as ghunghroos are tied around the dancer’s ankles. You can imagine how this attests to a dancer’s skill–if the dancer makes a mistake, the bells will sound out of synch with the time of the music, amplifying the misstep even more.

There’s a spiritual aspect to the bells as well. The ghunghroos are never worn during practice, only during a performance. And my Bharatanatyam guruji, or dance teacher, would never let us wear our ghunghroos before a performance without having them first blessed by God.

In addition to the bells, dancers will often paint their feet. This is generally just for decoration though, as the hands are also painted with the same design. The intended effect is to make the gestures and movements stand out even more, such as when the dancer is performing onstage.

Photo from flickr.com

Photo from flickr.com

Personally, I’m so used to dancing barefoot that when I go out to dance I feel uncomfortable wearing shoes. (Then again, high heels aren’t the greatest for dancing, either.) I’m glad that when I learned dance, I didn’t have to deal with squeezing my feet into shoes like some of my friends who studied pointe ballet. Although I do have tougher feet from having to strike them against the floor when dancing Bharatanatyam. My guruji would tell us that whenever we struck our feet against the stage, the resounding noise should sound like a clap of thunder.

I still have my first pair of ghunghroos. The pad has worn thin and several of the bells have fallen off, but I keep them as a memento of my first days of dance.

2 Responses to “Dancing Barefoot”

  1. lisa said

    hi,

    as far as indian classical dances, most of these dance forms originated as temple dances or dances to the hymns or stories of the deities. If you’re learning bharatnatyam, i’m sure you’ve been to an indian temple. Since these dances were mainly performed in a temple/place of worship, shoes were not worn just like you’re not supposed to wear shoes in the temple. Besides the resonating sound of stamping feet would not be that awesome if the sound is made by shoes 🙂

    hope this helps.

    • urbanapsara said

      Hi!

      You’re absolutely right. For some reason it slipped my mind that shoes were not worn as the dance was originally performed in temples (perhaps because it was so obvious, haha).

      As far as I know, Bharatnatyam (or any other classical Indian dance these days) is no longer performed in temples but instead in performance halls or stages. I’m assuming temple performances were done back in the ancient days.

Leave a Reply

